V-Day is not just for lovers…

… It’s also for cynically inclined, love denying fools out there who just happen to find themselves smack ass in a relationship. Thwap!

At age 14 I acquired the nickname “Amore Woman” because I was, to put in very cliche terms, hopelessly romantic. Every conversation I had with someone was about love in some form or another. I couldn’t wait to get married and have babies and just live in my own little in love bubble.

And then life happened. A series of destructive relationships in which a piece of my heart was ripped from soul – and I haven’t seen those pieces since. And suddenly, I’ve landed here – where many of you have come to know me, good or bad. Here I sit, in Bellefonte, typing to you from a view that would take your breath away. (If I wrote like that – but I don’t, so it doesn’t. Rest assure, you can still breathe.)

I have found myself in an unusual situation. I am in love. No, that is not so unusual for Ms. Gina Marie. Let’s try this again. I am in love AND happy. There we go – rarely have the two gone together in my past. Stacy has made me happier than I thought I would ever be in a relationship. If you know me, you know my past. And I have to admit, my relationship pattern was starting to wear on me. I feared that is what my fate was. To fall in love, be miserable in the process, and be left, alone, another piece missing.

But those pieces are slowing growing back. So yesterday, acclaimed “Valentine’s Day” I found myself celebrating this horrid hallmark occasion. Early morning card and mints, afternoon swim, and then to dinner. A surprise. Where could we be going? Hand in hand, we strolled down College Ave., found ourselves on Calder and began walking in the direction of a restaurant I do not frequent often, but love all the same.

Indian Garden!

So it turns out, after 22 years of cursing this day, it turns out to be not so bad. But the best part, which completely illustrates from criticism of V-Day – that you shouldn’t need a special day to tell someone you love them – was on Monday:

Stacy and sat around for hours talking about how much we loved each other. Why we loved each other. When we knew we were in love. I confessed why I started pursuing him in the first place, which is not a very honorable reason. Quite spiteful, actually. No one intends to fall in love. Well, I don’t know, but I didn’t. I was just looking for a friend. And I found him. And I also found a lover and companion. One that I hope to stay with for a very long time.

Well, it looks like the Amore Woman is back… look out!

g.

About Gina Marie Thompson

writer • mom • trail runner • cheese slinger • educator • social justice crusader • seeker of love & beauty• living locally • I CHOOSE LOVE ❤️
This entry was posted in personal musings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your beautiful soul with me.

