Luck of the Irish

I’m Scotch-Irish, but that doesn’t mean I can’t have fun on St. Patty’s Day. What that may mean, however, unlike my other 22-year old cohorts, peers, compadres – I can’t drink ALL FREAKIN’ DAY. I’m sorry, kids, I just can’t do it.

So what did you do then boring, old, Gina? Nice of you to ask. I and that person who seems to be permanently glued to me (or I to him), went to the Ale House to hear the Collins’ band – Danny Boy play a few Irish jigs. Who would accompany us but my other boyfriends (hard to keep them all in order) – Paul and Ben. The place was packed, but after Stacy snagged a booth (still don’t know how he managed to do it), we had a great time. I love being with these guys – my three favorite men. Listened to the band, ate some grub, drank some Hoegaarden (well, I did), had some talks. I suddenly realized I was surrounded by artists. The Collins Band, Stacy (composer, musician), Ben (painter), Paul (photographer, poet) – and these were my closest friends. There is nothing wrong with that by any means, but it was startling to realize that I was in the artist circle, that most of the people I met in State College were artists, in form or another. A bit intimidating, I must admit, being that I am a failed poet. But nonetheless, I am glad they are a part of my life.

Paul and I talked about loyalty of friends, and we also rationed the grapes for next summer/fall. Stacy and I are planning on “installing” a few more vines to accommodate the demand for our grapes. But I wouldn’t hesitate for a second to give up the precious grapes to Paul, since he makes the best jam.

Also talking about building a bocce court in the backyard… along with the grape vines that will surround our little eating/gazebo/picnic area. Stacy got the idea from a scene in the movie Munich. Glad to know something pleasant came out of that otherwise disturbing movie.

Anyway, after much Irish fun at the Ale House, and after retrieving my koala bear pillow from my apartment, it was back home and off to bed.

Today is Lazy Sunday, but since yesterday was Lazy Saturday, today has turned into Productive Sunday, in which we accomplish all the things we didn’t yesterday. FUN!

About Gina Marie Thompson

writer • mom • trail runner • cheese slinger • educator • social justice crusader • seeker of love & beauty• living locally • I CHOOSE LOVE ❤️
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your beautiful soul with me.

