Starbucks: cheap coffee, free sample pastries, and Van Morrison

For two hours every Friday I go to Starbucks. I sit with my coursework spewed out on the table, untouched and unread, and instead write. I am currently reading three books, and have recently flipped open another one. I am rereading Addonizio (we need to get her to read at Penn State… ) and Laux’s “The Poet’s Companion” in hopes of rejuvenate my writing. Since poems are no longer dripping from my ball-point pen, I have to go back to step 1 (poetry class flashbacks): writing exercises. I have a hard time admitting it, but these actually work. They, at least, help generate ideas, and that is what I need.

I find it easier to write when I’m depressed, which may be the reason for my dry spell lately. And I’m not going to, say, break up with Stacy just to get material. (Don’t think the thought hasn’t crossed my mind…. KIDDING!)

What do a photographer, failed poet, composer, and three black guys have in common? A love for jazz.

Just tack on another reason why I love State College. Last Thursday we went to see Ahmad Jamal at Schwab. Amazing jazz pianist. Paul was there, of course. I was explaining to a friend why I loved this area so much, and pointed out that in the past two weeks, I’ve gone to see a renowned Irish flutist, the polish symphony orchestra, a internationally known jazz vocalist, two jazz pianists, and a poetry reading. What other rural, in the middle of nowhere town has all of that? Not too many…

So all is abuzz here for Pam and Stacy’s Dinner With Donna show next weekend. If you’re in the area, check it out. It should be a good time. I’ve got the ‘rents coming up to see it. Stacy has his ‘rents coming up to see it. There is a number in the show about two mother-in-laws doing the tango while stabbing each other in the back. Funny, no? Well, it will be the first time the Tibbetts parents meet the Thompson parents. OH! And there will be cannolis. Stacy thinks he’s going to get a bite of mine, and I keep informing him (in the most serious voice I can muster) that he is sadly mistaken. This little Italian chick is eating every bite of her cannoli. He’ll have to beg some other patron for food.

That’s all for now. Stacy and I are eating dinner tonight at Otto’s so we can listen to Van, who is very easy on the eyes. 😉

About Gina Marie Thompson

writer • mom • trail runner • cheese slinger • educator • social justice crusader • seeker of love & beauty• living locally • I CHOOSE LOVE ❤️
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your beautiful soul with me.

