The day that Gina fell…. twice

The first was walking (more like be-bopping to DMB on my iPod) into the library coffee shop. Tripped outside (where all the tables are set up and people sit and have stimulating conversation) on the uneven pavement, was projected TWENTY FEET, tried to catch myself on a trash can only to knock the trash can over and land in the mulch beneath a tree. Twas okay, sans embarrassment. It looked worse than it felt, and I’m sure if I was one of those people sitting outside, I would have laughed at me.

The other happened only a little bit ago while Stacy and I were on our bike ride along Spring Creek to Fisherman’s Paradise. As a result of the new toe clips Stacy installed on my bike, I was stuck, and consequently, fell over. We were off the road, which was very fortunate. It didn’t really hurt, but as my bike began to push me to the left, it became inevitable that I was going to fall, and I thought, oh no, not again. (“Make you sure mention you were standing still” – Stacy)

I can’t remember the last time I fell… so today was a double dose of clumsiness.

I spotted a vespa today on campus, and thought, I’ve ridden on that vespa. Italian, cream colored, tan leather seat. I’ve put wine in that seat compartment. Sure enough, after standing there for a few moments, no other than Paul shuffled over. What a treat! I need more pictures of him and I need to hang out with him. We are way overdue on a good chat.

And last, but certainly not least, I got a job today! I am the Summer 2006 S.C.O.P.E “Academic Success Coordinator.” I am important. I am the liaison between students, counselors, and teachers. And let me tell you, folks, it was a really difficult decision. (To the point that up until 30 minutes before I walked into Chambers to accept the job offer, I was going to turn it down.) Thanks, Stacy, for talking me through that one. 😉 The reason for the uncertainty is because accepting the job means turning down this (and this and this). For those of you not familiar, it’s my annual fishing trip to Temagami with my dad (and grandparents). But, I realized that Temagami isn’t going anywhere; I can and will go again (next summer).

So that was my day. It was glorious, overall! (Sans the falls.) Gina = employed for the summer. Of course, I’m still looking for a job in State College with the kidda-loos. *fingers crossed*

Hope you enjoy the pics… it’s easier to have them linked rather than upload them into blogger. Let me know what you think.. if you don’t like the links… I’ll go back.

g.

About Gina Marie Thompson

writer • mom • trail runner • cheese slinger • educator • social justice crusader • seeker of love & beauty• living locally • I CHOOSE LOVE ❤️
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your beautiful soul with me.

