25 random things about me

25 random things about me

1. I am working on a bucket list. Inspired by Annie (Erlich) Quinn, who always had this “Top 100”(?) list of things she wanted to do before she died. And has apparently never told anyone what the #1 thing is.

2. I’ve never felt so old and trapped at 25. Old because people my age are either in grad school or gallivanting around the world. Trapped because I have a secure, (somewhat) well paying job that I don’t want to do for the next 30 years, but can see how that could happen very easily.

3. I like worms. I have a worm composter. I feed them food scrapes and the squirm and squiggle and eat, poop, and make baby worms. YES to sustainable living!

4. I am very grateful: I have a warm bed to sleep in, food to eat, a loving husband, a cuddly cat, and a secure job. There are people in this world killing themselves for what I have, so I try not to take it for granted.

5. The proudest moment of my life was getting a teaching job offer at a top school district in the state, only six months after I graduated from college and still in the first round of applications.

6. Teaching is the hardest, most challenging, and most rewarding thing I have ever done. I love and hate it everyday. Every. Day.

7. I want to get involved with the local Presbyterian Church, but I don’t know if I can, since I don’t believe in God.

8. I want to talk to someone about God. I would really like it to be Diana.

9. I wish I were less judgmental and better at loving unconditionally. I’m hoping this will come with age.

10. I don’t know a lot of Jeopardy facts about history. That’s not what I care about. But it is what others care about when you tell them you teach history.

11. I can’t wait to have monkeyfaces. I am terrified of having monkeyfaces. Is it possible to kiss and squeeze a baby to death? I’m actually worried I might.

12. South Africa is the most beautiful place I have ever visited. This has little to do with the landscape, although that alone makes the statement true. It has everything to do with the people I met (who took me into their homes and treated me like family) and fell in love with so quickly.

13. Sometimes I can smell Ramsbury. I miss walking Lacey. I miss English cheddar. I miss “real” bacon. I miss the locals at the Wheatshef. I miss the Jones family. I miss the small, perfect village of Ramsbury. I could live there. Easily the best six months of my life.

14. Getting charged (on foot) by a 2 ton white rhino in the African bush still remains the most terrifying experience of my life. And the coolest.

15. I left a piece of myself in Sweden.

16. I don’t like casual friendships. I want to go deep with the people I make friends with. My experience has been most people are afraid to go deep. Therefore, I only have a few really close friends.

17. I love people. My favorite thing in the world is listening to people tell stories, have discussions, etc. I want to help people. I want to love all people. I am very shy and have a hard time meeting new people. I think it’s because I want to love them right away.

18. I don’t mind that some people don’t “get” Stacy and me. Sometimes I don’t get Stacy and me. But we just work so well together. Every time I hear people complain about their significant other, I am reminded of how much I love Stacy. And how much in love I am with him still.

19. If you looked up the expression “wear your heart on your sleeve” you would see me there. I embody that expression in the best and worst ways. It has gotten me hurt both personally and professionally. I know no other way to live.

20. I worry that one day Stacy is going to wake up and wonder why he’s wasting his life with a 25 year old. I say this because just about every night over dinner/dishes I get into my, “I don’t know what to do with my life” monologue. It has to get old.

21. I miss my friends from “back home.” My heart hurts when I think about my life without them constantly in it. I’m grateful that I still have them as friends. I just wish I could see them more often. Life is lonely without you guys.

22. In August 2004 I was depressed because I had just gotten back from six months in Europe with Nicola. I did not want to be back in the States. Also, I was unexpectedly stuck with an apartment I couldn’t afford (a friend had bailed on me), so I put an ad online for a roommate. I met Megan Kline at Baby’s Burgers & Shakes in State College and after a lovely lunch she signed the lease. She was my Maid of Honor this past October. She is my rock and (one of) the love(s) of my life.

23. I’m so happy I joined the Gutter Trash Bowling League even though I was really nervous to do so (see #17) and I’m looking forward to Monday Night All You Can Eat Burritos with new friends.

24. I stopped believing in God during my sophomore year in high school when I learned the history of the world. I learned about Deism and Taoism and Buddhism and the Sophists. I just couldn’t go on believing in something that caused so much destruction and hatred. I couldn’t believe in God when so much killing was done in his name. I’m writing an essay about my love affair with history and the condition of my faith.

25. Two truths and a lie: I was baptized a Born-Again Christian, I hitchhiked in France, and I have a closet love for Wendy’s hamburgers.

About Gina Marie Thompson

writer • mom • trail runner • cheese slinger • educator • social justice crusader • seeker of love & beauty• living locally • I CHOOSE LOVE ❤️
This entry was posted in my poems. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your beautiful soul with me.

