Tidbit’s 1st Thanksgiving!

Dear Tidbit,

My dearest little bean… you are growing fast! It’s hard for me to remember what it was like to not be pregnant… but I know I definitely used to be. There are a few things I miss, like getting a full night’s sleep without having my hands go numb, but as each day passes I get more and more excited to hold your little baby body.

Your growing body is causing parts of my body to disappear.

I hope you like turkey, because you got a mighty big dose of it over the past four days. And stuffing, and mashed potatoes, and gravy, and… pie. Lots and lots of pie. I hate to admit it, but I have been using you as an excuse to indulge a bit in my food choices, but I think that’s ok. We’ve only gained about 10lbs so far, and so if I stay under the 30lb weight gain, I’ll be happy.

It’s hard to see ALL the food on this plate, but I ate 97% of it. You’ll be a carbo addict like your mamma.

You’ll learn soon enough that holidays in our family are spent traveling between two – the Thompsons and the Tibbetts. There’s no way we would miss seeing one of the families. It’s really not so bad, but I do wonder how it will be next year with you in tow. For now, though, this is my favorite time of year. I love to get away from the day-to-day grind and be with family and friends and eat obscene amounts of glorious food. We had a great time this year and everyone loves you already. Auntie Nicola brought you TONS of clothes and everyone wanted to know how you were doing. I told everyone that you’re pretty active now and kicks and tumbles come quite frequently now. I’m excited for the day when you start busting out of my belly!

Thanksgiving dinner with the Tibbetts family!

It’s been a rough few weeks for me, Tidbit. Between all that’s going on with the Sandusky case, my very frustrating grad class, and the never-ending grading of papers and lesson planning between Penn State and State High. I’m sorry for any stress hormones that may have made there way to your little growing body. I already know that you are a tough little girl, though, so you probably didn’t even notice. When you’re older, I’ll explain to you the events that rocked our community in the month of November 2011, but I have to say, although the situation is far from over, I’m glad the month almost is. It’s time to get excited about Christmas and to get excited about you!

Not beer, but I wish it was….
About Gina Marie Thompson

writer • mom • trail runner • cheese slinger • educator • social justice crusader • seeker of love & beauty• living locally • I CHOOSE LOVE ❤️
This entry was posted in about me, personal musings, Tidbit Adventures and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your beautiful soul with me.

