I’m back at it

My goal this year is to start blogging again. So I’ve spent about an hour going back and forth between this blog (which has most recently housed the journals of my annual fishing trips to Temagami) and the one I started over at WordPress.com in 2008. I’m not sure what my intention was at that time… why I thought I should switch from Blog(spot) to WordPress. Until someone can convince me otherwise, I’ve decided to return back to this domain and blog. I like the title and tagline better. Let’s see, what else… I’ve written over two hundred blog posts on this one and about 20 on the other. If I’m looking at this from an archival or even transformative perspective, I guess this is the place to me.

I wrote this shortly before soliciting a friend’s advice on which platform to use. Of course he suggested WordPress over Blogger (snort) and showed me how to import all of my 200+ Blogger posts over here. Huzzah!

Much has changed since I began blogging in 2006, and for me to try and play catch up now would be ridiculous. So I’ll just start from here, the now, and fill in gaps as they come.

This will mostly serve as a space for me to publicly vomit my thoughts I find most worthy for the public. It will include thoughts about teaching and motherhood, but my goal is to use this space to reawaken my creative writing. So you might see the occasional poem (*gasp* Jason, don’t get your hopes up), or just reflective type thoughts that may lead to some more creative outlet.

This is a big leap for me. I’m extremely self-conscious about my writing. Especially since I’m surrounded by really great writers. I used to be a good writer. But I fell out of it (creatively and professionally) pretty hard when I got deep into teaching. When you’re grading and planning lessons, there just isn’t time for that shit. And now I’m a mom, which is the ultimate “c&!k block” of creative writing. Oh yeah, I’ll probably swear. And be inappropriate. So, that’s your warning.

Welcome back, me!

About Gina Marie Thompson

writer • mom • trail runner • cheese slinger • educator • social justice crusader • seeker of love & beauty• living locally • I CHOOSE LOVE ❤️
This entry was posted in my poems. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m back at it

  1. Pingback: Making sense of being threatened, feeling betrayed by my community, and deciding what’s next for me | musings and mishaps of an unconditional lover

Share your beautiful soul with me.

