[POEM] Twenty-nine love poems

Twenty-nine love poems

It took six months to write twenty-nine love poems
declarations of adoration you knew all along
would end like this
how could I foresee this pain
when loving you brought so much pleasure

twenty-nine poems written
through the seasons
in the gray of winter
our love painted the world in technicolor
in the blossoming of spring
we stayed hibernated, under the sheets
laughing like carefree children at play
now summer
when everything is alive
we are not
our love melted by the heat
burned by the sun’s unforgiving glare
drowned in deluge after deluge

And now, what will fall bring?
there is no certainty in the future
“no percentage in it”
we decided long ago over root beer and fake cheese
but too much has happened
to live carelessly in the present
the “now” of time is not ours
as much as we might still want it
So I wait for clarity, for “good decisions” for
answers to my questions
While my heart beats pain into my chest
and my mind tries not to forget

/ / /
August 5, 2014
Bellefonte, PA

About Gina Marie Thompson

writer • mom • trail runner • cheese slinger • educator • social justice crusader • seeker of love & beauty• living locally • I CHOOSE LOVE ❤️
This entry was posted in love and loss, my poems, poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your beautiful soul with me.

