[POEM] deception

deception

I did keep everything
knowing it wouldn’t help
but I find myself
on the coldest nights
wondering how he could
threaten and alienate me
when he insisted I believe
but fall in love with another
mere weeks after we said goodbye

but the words echo in the dark stillness:
restraining order
stalker
this doesn’t mean we’re…
I’d keep you from coming if I could
do not come on any day or at any time
I get to decide when you leave

how can such words of detest and hate
be proof of anything other than
it being all a lie
that I was a phase
the flavor of the season
an obsession to be played out

I search for answers
something anything
to hang onto
the love I believed was real
instead I roll over
wrap my arms around
the body next to me

/ / /

Gina Thompson
8 December 2014
State College PA

About Gina Marie Thompson

writer • mom • trail runner • cheese slinger • educator • social justice crusader • seeker of love & beauty• living locally • I CHOOSE LOVE ❤️
This entry was posted in my poems. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your beautiful soul with me.

