[PHOTO] midnight snow

Last night I got caught driving home in the fast falling snowfall that hit Central Pennsylvania. It was around midnight when I was driving home and there were no plow trucks to speak of, not even on the highway. It was a first for me, driving in this kind of snow. I wasn’t scared, knowing that if I just drove slow and steady I would be ok. On the contrary, I found it kind of exhilarating. It was beautiful. And I had never actually driven on roads covered in snow. I drove in 2nd and 3rd gear the entire way and my 2001 Subaru Legacy was a champ the entire time.

IMG_0379

Snow-covered highway drive. I-99 from State College to Bellefonte.

IMG_0377

snowfall at midnight

IMG_0378

snowy street and shadows

IMG_0380

snowflakes

IMG_0381

porch steps

After I arrived home I spent some time wandering around outside listening to the snow hitting the ground and the trees and coating the earth around me. It was the perfect kind of snow. It was the kind of snow that immediately sticks to your coat and skin and hair and eyelashes. It was the kind of snow that makes you want to grab your lover and never let go. It was that kind of snow.

About Gina Marie Thompson

writer • mom • trail runner • cheese slinger • educator • social justice crusader • seeker of love & beauty• living locally • I CHOOSE LOVE ❤️
This entry was posted in personal musings, photo of the day and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to [PHOTO] midnight snow

  1. M. Alden says:

    This looks utterly enchanted, and your description heightens that impression. I’m from Texas and have only seen snow once (I was 7 and barely remember), but someday I want to live where this sort of weather graces the landscape.

    Like

Share your beautiful soul with me.

