♫ My Top 10 Songs of 2014, Part 2 ♫

My Top 10 Songs of 2014, Part 2 (August – December)

A few weeks ago I posted My Top 10 Songs of 2014, Part 1. In regards to music (and life events) my 2014 was pretty evenly broken up into two six month halves. Here is the music from the 2nd half of 2014 that, for one reason or another, resonated with me emotionally, such that they were often on repeat in the car or in my ear buds wherever I went. These are all easy enough to look up, but I’ve linked to them and embedded for your listening and viewing pleasure.


1. i won’t back down – dawn landes
I discovered this particular version of the Tom Petty song after I heard Erin Condo sing a beautiful cover of it at the PA FarmFest.

2. don’t stop me now – queen
Who doesn’t love a little Queen to help you to feel empowered and better about yourself? And to say “fuck you” to all those making you feel shitty.
DON’T STOP GINA – NOW OR EVER. 

3. all about that bass – meghan trainor
Guess what? I’m curvy! I’ve got a little extra weight on me these days. I had a kid three years ago. I’m officially in my 30s. Guess what else? I’m a pretty excellent lover. I’m a beautiful woman, both physically and emotionally. In case you didn’t know, it’s all about the bass.

4. really don’t care – demi lovato
A friend tipped me off to this song in late August; she said when she heard it she immediately thought of me. I spent the rest of August and most of September with this one on repeat and singing as loud as I could. It was necessary therapy. Thank you Demi. (And thank you friend.)

5. and so it goes – sara gazerek & josh nelson
This is just beautiful and heartbreaking. This version by Sara and Josh gives me chills every time I listen to it. For me listening to it last year was like a car accident – it was so incredibly painful to hear, but I couldn’t not press repeat again and again. 

I basically spent the end of September (who doesn’t feel good after closing off a really fucked up month with a crazy weekend trip to Brooklyn with your best friend) and all of October feeling pretty good. I had “let go” of a lot of anger and sadness, which I’m not going to get into here, but if you’re really curious, you can do a bit of archival reading of my blog. Of course I was in no way perfectly happy with my situation or “healed” from the damage, but I had started to feel like I was really truly healing. I owe that to antidepressants, therapy, friends, and music. These next four in particular were some important medicine for me throughout the fall, especially when things got ugly again in November.

6. shake it off – taylor swift

Probably my favorite Taylor Swift song. I love her and I’m not ashamed of it. She’s awesome. She writes her own music and appears to be very down to earth. And I adore this video because I feel as though I personally identify with her silly “character” of not really being good or cool enough to get it or fit in. I’m constantly screwing up, saying the wrong things, mispronouncing words, not knowing all of the literary and cultural references. But I’ve finally accepted who I am and I really truly don’t care [aka, give a fuck]. I’m just not that smart (in that way). I’ve got a million other great qualities about me, so too bad that I don’t know all of the learning. I love every single lyric from this song, but my favorite part of this song is when TS starts to “rap” and it’s just so perfect:

♫ My ex-man brought his new girlfriend
She’s like “Oh, my god!” but I’m just gonna shake.
And to the fella over there with the hella good hair
Won’t you come on over, baby?
We can shake, shake, shake ♫

7. blank space – taylor swift

and then you get to a point where you just embrace the crazy. Is it just me or is Taylor Swift absolutely stunning in this video? REPEAT PLEASE.

♫  So it’s gonna be forever or it’s gonna go down in flames. You can tell me when it’s over; if the high was worth the pain. Got a long list of ex-lovers. They’ll tell you I’m insane. ‘Cause you know I love the players and you love the game ♫

8. the fall song – joy ike

This is seriously the most fun, light-hearted, uplifting song I have ever heard. I just want to jump around and skip when I hear it and every time it comes up in my shuffle I just suddenly start beaming and grooving my body. I got to hear Joy Ike perform at Webster’s somewhat serendipitously (I know that doesn’t quite make sense knowing how much I go there, but I didn’t intend to be there that night). I was SO GLAD I decided to stop in the store that night. She has an incredible voice and an awesome stage presence. Her album, All or Nothing, [BUY IT] is chock full of amazing tunes, but this one takes the cake, IMHO. Did I mention it’s just so much FUN?! And it has the added bonus of always reminding me of my dear friend Kelsey, because I sat with her during the show and we sang this song loud together long after the show was over. And though there’s nothing particularly cliche “inspiring” about this song, it has been very important for me. Every time I hear it I get this overwhelming sense that everything is going to be ok with me. And that’s been a pretty fucking important feeling to have these days.

9. flaws – bastille

♫  You have always worn your flaws upon your sleeve, and I have always buried them deep beneath the ground. Dig them up; let’s finish what we’ve started. Dig them up, so nothing’s left unturned. ♫

10. running up that hill – theo bleckmann

I discovered this song while listening to The Jazz Session: Radio Edition. It’s a beautiful cover of the Kate Bush song, of which I had never heard before I hear this. I absolutely adore Theo Bleckmann‘s voice.

About Gina Marie Thompson

writer • mom • trail runner • cheese slinger • educator • social justice crusader • seeker of love & beauty• living locally • I CHOOSE LOVE ❤️
This entry was posted in about me, music, now playing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your beautiful soul with me.

