[POEM] I never wear makeup, anyway.

I never wear makeup, anyway.

It’s the white noise on repeat. It’s the
same story       repeat,
felt against the chest, pounding against the pumping blood.

I never wear makeup anyway,
so why would that even come up?

I want to paint my eyes a crimson shimmer
but you said you didn’t like that picture of me.

We stood in Target and bought a cheap tube of purple lipstick
that I’ll never wear.

We should be together
but we won’t because habits die hard and
yours
don’t die at all.

You say: ditto.
I say: that’s not fair.

It’s the static that I can’t see                           beyond.
I’m running
fingers through a
filtered ether,
echoes of binary code of laughter and love.

You have facts that you like
to sing to me, reminding me daily –
it’s the same story,
stuck on repeat in my mind.

I want to write a future without uncertainty,
but I can’t find an eraser big enough
for all these women I’d have to write out
before finishing our own ending.

You say there’s no story to write.

It’s just as well.
I ran out of erasers yesterday.

/ / /

Gina Thompson
26 April 2015
Bellefonte PA

About Gina Marie Thompson

writer • mom • trail runner • cheese slinger • educator • social justice crusader • seeker of love & beauty• living locally • I CHOOSE LOVE ❤️
This entry was posted in my poems and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your beautiful soul with me.

