[POEM] Spring’s optimism

Spring’s optimism 

the sheets cling to the cold of night
while trapping in heat to warm my body
just when I thought I was getting better
these days seem dark once again
life is unkind, not unlike the sharp sting of words
scribbled in a notebook for the world to see
I can’t control how others decide to treat me
no more than I can control the serendipitous pull
of the earth’s magnets my brother likes to call God

the sun has since thawed the winter’s easy work
and now the emergence of life has begun,
buds sprout, fingers dive into dirt
but my mother’s right arm remains useless
disabled in winter’s unforgiving harshness
the way it paralyzes the heart, makes one give up hope

Spring’s optimism is a secret club only a few
are able to join, but these days it feels like
everyone is there: laughing, flirting, enjoying the
warmth of new promise
while I lie, uninvited to the party,
wrapped in winter’s embrace
clutching the flesh of a limp hand
wondering who decided we weren’t
deserving of such love.

/ / /

Gina Thompson
3 May 2015
Bellefonte PA

About Gina Marie Thompson

writer • mom • trail runner • cheese slinger • educator • social justice crusader • seeker of love & beauty• living locally • I CHOOSE LOVE ❤️
This entry was posted in love and loss, my poems, poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your beautiful soul with me.

