[POEM] last night the moon

last night the moon

last night the moon was still large in the sky
despite it being two days since it was full

I felt the magnetic pull of the earth
separate your heart from mine

a sensation crept along my skin
the way waves slip across the shore as the moon guides them in.

I didn’t like it.

And when I went inside my blue bungalow
the creaking wood and two familiar voices calling me
I felt unhinged and numb
what’s the opposite of reborn?

I make lists in my journal of “wants” and “needs”
and you never seem to make it on both lists completely.
But neither does he.

I can’t have both and I can’t choose between
some days I want neither
today while I rinsed egg whites off my fingers
I talked of being pulled in too many ways
and I almost set my heart free and almost
set it on fire

/ / /

Gina Thompson
State College PA
6 May 2015

About Gina Marie Thompson

writer • mom • trail runner • cheese slinger • educator • social justice crusader • seeker of love & beauty• living locally • I CHOOSE LOVE ❤️
This entry was posted in my poems. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to [POEM] last night the moon

  1. I of July says:

    love the rhythm… very well-written

    Like

Share your beautiful soul with me.

