[POEM] leaves falling

leaves falling

“I see the leaves falling down on my heart.”
~ my three-year-old daughter

She said the words on a day I was not so happy
a day after you decided we were no longer friends.
I guess I decided that. But you made the decision
long ago. I heard the cliche echo through the car
as we drove to school: “old soul”
and I finally understood what it meant.
she reminds me of your unimportance,
your impermanence in my world, like leaves
that fall each season — a replica of our friendship.

You know the story: vibrant beauty, colors that
leave skipped heartbeats, then the leaves fall
and the semblance of death appears. We’ve cycled
through enough now to know it’s only hibernation,
that spring carries with it hope and love-
a rebirth of forgiveness. But your kindness is a guise
and mine maybe is too, and the summer sun burns
too hot on our skin. Too hot, too much, too late.

She said, “I want winter to come so I can
build a snowman in the backyard.”

I want winter to come, too –
and for our cycle of death to be real this time.

/ / /

Gina Thompson
31 October 2015
Bellefonte, PA

About Gina Marie Thompson

writer • mom • trail runner • cheese slinger • educator • social justice crusader • seeker of love & beauty• living locally • I CHOOSE LOVE ❤️
This entry was posted in my poems, poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your beautiful soul with me.

