[POEM] downtown on a First Friday

Photo

downtown on a First Friday

surrounded by art
their makers mingling
chords floating on conversations
laughter harmonizing with nylon strings
singing vibrating through feet & toes

(switch)

same basement bookstore,
different location,
ten years previously, the same
voice, fingers, notes, smile
awakened my hardened soul
tonight: a decade later
among familiar faces
my heart warmed & again
my soul healed
with each note & finger pluck
tonight: I grabbed my husband’s hand
and I didn’t want to let go

an era has completed itself here tonight
something has ended and something has begun

in that art gallery,
that basement bookstore,
that vibrant downtown:
I lost the sound of your voice
the taste of your laugh
the pain of your lies
drowned out by the energy force
of joy & friends & creative expression
sometimes all it takes is
a volcanic-tornado collision
of compassion & love
to let go and heal.

/ / /

Gina Thompson
7 November 2015
Bellefonte, PA

About Gina Marie Thompson

writer • mom • trail runner • cheese slinger • educator • social justice crusader • seeker of love & beauty• living locally • I CHOOSE LOVE ❤️
This entry was posted in my poems. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your beautiful soul with me.

