on being overwhelmed by other’s passions and talents

12227827_10153683666397731_5751079279607564596_n
[image source]


“Sometimes I cry watching people do what they love.”

I made this comment on Facebook this morning. It came to me after I watched a video a friend posted of the Team Canada Nexxice synchronized ice skaters, which I didn’t even realize was a thing until now. While I was watching it I kept saying out loud, “holy crap” and “wow!” and getting goosebumps. I then started to tear up. It was just really awesome to watch these women perform this routine that had taken them hours and hours on the ice to learn and perfect. Not to mention the years of ice skating lessons to that point. I know it sounds silly, but I felt really honored to watch it. I suspect that’s not silly at all, judging by the reaction of the crowd. I doubt I’m unique in my feelings.

I’ve always cried watching people do what they love. I cry when I hear the Blue Band start playing. When the Penn State Football team runs out onto the field. When an artist performs on stage for an open mic. When someone stands up in front of people to present themselves in some form or another. When I watch synchronized ice skating (apparently). When someone sings the national anthem at an event. When I read an article online about a personal experience. My tears don’t discriminate. Just about any instance in which a person or team or group of people put themselves out there and share their passion and/or talents.

The instance that I notice it the most (just because of the frequency of my attendance to these types of performances) is after a play or a musical when the actors comes out to bow. I always cry. Not like, just tear up a little. Like- cry hard enough that I wish I had a tissue. Like, cry hard enough that I’ve had my husband ask me, “What’s wrong?”

Nothing’s wrong. I’m just totally overwhelmed by the magic. 

I can’t get over how much I dig other people. I love them. I really want to love everyone, and it’s a bit difficult for me when I realize that’s not a possibility. (Especially when the option is forcibly taken away from me by others.) I want to celebrate the talents and passions and beauty that other people bring to this world. Let’s face it — this world is kinda bleak. There’s a lot of hate and a lot of ugly in this world. But, if you look around you, at friends and family and even strangers, you can also see so much love and beauty. People are just throwing it at you. That’s how I feel anyway. And I want to catch it all.

And I just can’t take it. It makes me cry like a baby. I’m not entirely sure why. I think it’s that I feel so honored to be a part of that magic and beauty. I think it also has to do with trust. These people, or person, whomever — are opening themselves up and sharing a piece of their soul, passion, talents — a piece of who they are — with me. They’re trusting me with a part of them. When you think about it that way, it’s pretty fucking incredible. And vulnerable. Maybe that’s what gets me. The openness, the willingness to trust, the vulnerability. Whatever it is, I’m so overwhelmingly appreciative of being allowed to share it and experience it.

Admittedly, it sounds a bit selfish, but I want to experience as much of other people’s magic and beauty and love as they’re willing to share.

We should all be so lucky that there are people out there willing to be so trusting and vulnerable. It’s not easy and it comes with a lot of heartache and potential failure. But our lives are more fulfilled and better because of it. I know that mine is.

~ ILYKG ~

About Gina Marie Thompson

writer • mom • trail runner • cheese slinger • educator • social justice crusader • seeker of love & beauty• living locally • I CHOOSE LOVE ❤️
This entry was posted in essays, personal musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your beautiful soul with me.

