[POEM] The elephant and the gazelle

The elephant and the gazelle 

Four legs stomping across the savannah / or is it eight? / I guess we’ll just have to imagine / what it could be out there

Right now I’m wedged / between two rocks / the glacial movements thousands (maybe millions?) of years before / our four feet (or is it eight?) hit this path

Perched above the trail / it’s silent here except for the trickle of what water remains of this mountain / and the steel wings passing overhead (it still mystifies me)

There are footsteps / but not yours / and steady breathing / certainly not mine / yet you are here / on this mountain / like the time before when you were there and I was here 

I didn’t come here because you did / I came because these mountains told me to come / because not running wasn’t an option / because you are with me wherever I run

I know you worry / but let me assure you: forgiving is easy but forgetting is not / I don’t intend to leave these woods broken and beaten / so do as Eddie says / just breathe / because no one knows this more than me

/ / / 

Gina Thompson 
26 October 2016
Shingletown Gap

About Gina Marie Thompson

writer • mom • trail runner • cheese slinger • educator • social justice crusader • seeker of love & beauty• living locally • I CHOOSE LOVE ❤️
This entry was posted in my poems. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your beautiful soul with me.

