getting out of bed: a year later

Last year I was on the brink of losing my teaching job. I lost a very important friend in an ugly way, another moved to another state. My mother had a massive stroke that left her right side paralyzed and unable to talk. And I had no good safety nets in place. It took all I could to get out of bed every day, even with having a loving husband and beautiful daughter and a best friend – all who took care of me. Now I’m in a much better place. There’s still a lot going on in my life that brings me sadness. I’ve had some recent upsets that really have had taken a heavy emotional toll on me. But I’m not in that same dark place as I was last year. Now when times get tough I have safety nets in place to remind me to keep going. To fight the sad. I am hopeful and joyful and I believe in life being worth living. I credit taking care of my physical health and discovering trail running as being a major force in my happiness. Also, having a job that I enjoy and working for people I respect and care for helps a lot. I have new professional and relationships goals now, and I have the self-love and self-confidence to achieve those goals. I’m no longer treading water… I’m doing a breaststroke across the ocean (or in my case, running along the trails) and I can’t wait to get to the other side… and enjoy the journey while I’m achieving it. Thank you to those who have supported me through the shitty times and continue to support me in all the ways I need. Life is nothing without love – loving and taking care of one another. It’s all we’ve got. That and laughter. A lot of laughter.

About Gina Marie Thompson

writer • mom • trail runner • cheese slinger • educator • social justice crusader • seeker of love & beauty• living locally • I CHOOSE LOVE ❤️
This entry was posted in personal musings, trail running. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your beautiful soul with me.

