[POEM] our collective joy

our collective joy

you were never able to laugh
at your own self
insecurities were too much
to make light of
you were quick to laugh
at mine
pointing out what
made me weak
I laughed too because
I craved the vibrations
of our combined laughter

the vibrations of our combined laughter
weren’t strong enough to
keep us steady
your laughter depended on
my weakness
my strength desired your laughter
our collective joy always a misfire
the timing never quite right
to create anything lasting

/ / /

Gina Thompson
13 February 2017
State College, PA

[free write based on WordPress Daily Prompt: Seriousness]

About Gina Marie Thompson

writer • mom • trail runner • cheese slinger • educator • social justice crusader • seeker of love & beauty• living locally • I CHOOSE LOVE ❤️
This entry was posted in love and loss, my poems. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your beautiful soul with me.

