[POEM] morning bustle

unless i wake early, there is never silence. the morning is filled with sounds of bustle: cereal into bowl, egg sizzling in the frying pan, coffee maker bubbles, the tumble of clothes drying, footsteps on the hardwood, a little voice that declares its presence in the world.

over breakfast: an explanation about words that end in “it”, an eager learner, cereal softening against milk, infrequent text alerts, soft hum of the furnace, melodies from the local radio station, a question about where babies come from.

there isn’t enough silence in the morning for my own thoughts, so i give in to the lack of solace and listen to what’s provided for me. I’m neither resentful nor content. I’m always somewhere floating between the two.

/ / /

Gina Thompson
16 February 2017
Bellefonte, PA

free write based on WordPress Daily Prompt: Sound

About Gina Marie Thompson

writer • mom • trail runner • cheese slinger • educator • social justice crusader • seeker of love & beauty• living locally • I CHOOSE LOVE ❤️
This entry was posted in my poems. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to [POEM] morning bustle

  1. Pingback: Author Interview – Rana Kelly – Until Her Darkness Goes (Contemporary Romance) | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Share your beautiful soul with me.

