[POEM] on the periphery

on the periphery

at the center of everything
there is certainty
there is knowing
the center is where we strive to be
or where society wants to push us, anyway
it’s the path of least resistance
it’s where life flows along just so
no rocking of boats
no upsetting the equilibrium of forces
it’s calm waters on an uncertain sea
there’s no risk
but there is no living too great, too much,
too deep, too hard, too fast
not the way one should
or could
if they stepped just a little to the right or
just a little to the left
it’s living too small

the center of me
is the peripheral of you
and what you want for me, my life, my being
your center is where i want to avoid
ever settling
ever getting too comfortable
ever letting go of me

/ / /

Gina Thompson
28 February 2017
Boalsburg, PA

free write based on WordPress Daily Prompt: Center

About Gina Marie Thompson

writer • mom • trail runner • cheese slinger • educator • social justice crusader • seeker of love & beauty• living locally • I CHOOSE LOVE ❤️
This entry was posted in my poems. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your beautiful soul with me.

