[POEM] it was everything but meaningless

IMG_4643

it was everything but meaningless

she asked me what was the point in talking to him again
that even if it meant nothing it still meant something
i couldn’t answer her because i wasn’t sure
just like when he asked me what keeps me from leaving
“other than fear”
i find processing my emotions for an audience to be difficult
to explain why i live in a constant state of inaction, not doing, fear
when i’m capable of action, doing, and conquering

the only thing that ever felt real
like punch-in-the-gut, knock-you-off-your-feet
r e a l
i allowed to walk away
because that was the direction
they had to go
because i was too afraid to fight for my own happiness
at the expense of theirs

there’s still so much to say
but the words that form in my head stop in my heart
they sit there and churn, make my chest feel heavy
and forward motion stops
they never reach my fingers for the page
or my mouth, to be spoken
I let them rest in my heart, break open there
because that is what is right
because that is living in fear

/ / /

Gina Thompson
25 March 2017
Bellefonte, PA

free write based on WordPress Daily Prompt: Meaningless 

 

About Gina Marie Thompson

writer • mom • trail runner • cheese slinger • educator • social justice crusader • seeker of love & beauty• living locally • I CHOOSE LOVE ❤️
This entry was posted in my poems. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your beautiful soul with me.

