[POEM] choosing a route 

choosing a route

willingly drink the coffee
less willingly eat the oatmeal
(at least it’s not a banana)
my morning meeting does not have visitors
but I spread out my map
and choose among the trails
how many miles? how many hours?
if i choose to explore
my run will be slow
if i choose a new path
theres a good chance I’ll get lost
I don’t know what it means to “train”
I just like to run in the woods
to feel, to see, to live in the existence
of something greater than me
each moment a new moment
and gone and never felt again
everything falls out of me
on the trail

/ / /

Gina Thompson
29 March 2017
Bellefonte, PA

About Gina Marie Thompson

writer • mom • trail runner • cheese slinger • educator • social justice crusader • seeker of love & beauty• living locally • I CHOOSE LOVE ❤️
This entry was posted in my poems. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to [POEM] choosing a route 

  1. Kate Houck says:

    I share some of the same feelings and habits 🙂 Very enjoyable to read!

    Like

Share your beautiful soul with me.

