the weekly wrap-up

Sometimes I’m too hard on myself. Ok… maybe more than sometimes. Shut up. So I’m starting a weekly wrap-up of my successes in taking care of me, including physical exercise and emotional/mental care. This week I’m going to combine what I did last week.

physical health

  • Outdoor bootcamp: 3 days
  • Trail Running: 2 Days, 6 miles (low mileage, but I still got out there)
  • Tomorrow I’m running a 5-mile trail race at The Dirty Kiln!

mental/emotional health

  • I went to Pittsburgh to visit with my family
  • weekly therapy
  • talk with friends
  • wrote every day

professional

  • I did a thing! (I mostly want to keep it on the down-low right now, but I finally did a thing I’ve been meaning to do!)

Last week I went trail running twice (10+ miles), did a HIIT workout on the treadmill for 3 miles, and climbed the rocks at Shingletown with JoJo. I had therapy, wrote a lot, and met with my advisor to set up a game plan for finishing up my M.Ed.

AND I GOT MY HAIRS CUT! You guys, I got bangs! And about five or so inches chopped off and my hair layered. BUT BANGS. HOLY SHIT BANGS. This is the most dramatic thing I’ve ever had done with my hair since my cousin cut it with a pair of plastic kid scissors when I was 3.

I know there’s a lot of room for improvement here. I’m no ultra trail runner. I’m no workout guru. But I’ve come a long way. I used to spend my days working then sitting around, pretty much doing nothing but pretending it’s what I enjoyed doing. It’s not. It was a way for me to avoid working on myself. Because working on oneself is hard. It takes commitment and perseverance and a whole fuck ton of grace.

So that’s all… for now. I’m excited to run the Dirty Kiln tomorrow, and I’m only maybe 6% sad I’m not running the half. I can’t wait to cross some streams!

ILYKG,
Gina

About Gina Marie Thompson

writer • mom • trail runner • cheese slinger • educator • social justice crusader • seeker of love & beauty• living locally • I CHOOSE LOVE ❤️
This entry was posted in personal musings, trail running. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your beautiful soul with me.

