[POEM] naked thoughts 

Lying naked on the bed

Post shower, post trail run

That satisfied exhaustion 

A deep inhale 

Exhale 

A cat sleeping beside me 

A quiet house, except for the music I choose 

Melodies that flow through the room

Lyrics that vibrate through my heart

Songs that never get old

Just because I’m sad doesn’t mean I’m not happy 

These moments, the ones we steal, that we won’t get back 

Today in the woods I ran hard and long

Laughed and enjoyed the moments 

I stole for myself 

For myself 

For myself 

I’ve always loved that about me 

That I can live and love the solitude 

Friendships are deep and pure

Love flows in and out of the space between them

But being comfortable alone 

Is just as necessary for the soul to thrive 

Here, naked on my bed, alone

Deep inhale, exhale

The slightest of breeze flowing through the open window

I can be happy in sadness, don’t doubt it 

Because I live with so much unadulterated joy inside me 

It’s hard not to feel so intensely the sadness 

But also the moments of sweet bliss and simplicity. 

/ / /

Gina Thompson
14 April 2017
Bellefonte PA

About Gina Marie Thompson

writer • mom • trail runner • cheese slinger • educator • social justice crusader • seeker of love & beauty• living locally • I CHOOSE LOVE ❤️
This entry was posted in my poems. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your beautiful soul with me.

