these stolen moments of rediscovery 

these stolen moments of rediscovery 

I can hear the peepers here too

They are faint, drowned out by the sound of the stream 

Water rushing over rocks 

I’m in the middle of nowhere, in northern Pennsylvania 

Tucked inside the forest

In a house built with mostly two hands and a whole lot of knowhow. 

Today we went for a short hike off the windy road 

Along the Quehanna, alongside the water

Flowing quickly down the mountain 

It felt good to have another soul there with me

To have THAT particular soul

Discoveries and moments 

We don’t steal, because we are given 

Well sorta.. with a kid it’s always hard 

So maybe yes, we did steal this one 

Just the two of us: me hiking fast and taking pictures 

You telling stories and echoing my delight at being in the woods. 

I know it’s hard these days. 

I’m not easy to deal with. 

The ebb and flow of emotions. 

But you continue to love me unconditionally 

You trust me still somehow 

Despite me not deserving it  

You wait patiently for my return 

For my discovery of you, us, our family 

Through so much of your own heartache 

Through much of my own

And it’s hard to think of anyone I’d rather continue this journey with

Especially in these stolen moments of rediscovery

/ / / 

Gina Thompson
15 April 2017
Emproium PA

About Gina Marie Thompson

writer • mom • trail runner • cheese slinger • educator • social justice crusader • seeker of love & beauty• living locally • I CHOOSE LOVE ❤️
This entry was posted in my poems. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your beautiful soul with me.

