[POEM] it’s the ring of clouds around my mountain

1480446064228


it’s the ring of clouds around my mountain

it’s a color mostly used to describe
the expression of emotion
a morning tucked under blankets
the weather right now outside the window
of these Central Pennsylvania valleys
it’s watching my mother in quiet contemplation
it’s the sound of fog on the Mid-State Trail
clouds thick with emotion
rarely it’s a feeling in my heart
but sometimes
like sometimes lately
but there is beauty in it
the sadness, the color
it’s most beautiful in the forest
juxtaposed with the vibrant greens
against the backdrop of blue
it’s in the name of one of my favorite songs
it’s the matter in between what’s black and white
(in theory, because nothing ever is)
it’s me on this day, unsure of what to do next
stay where I am or climb this mountain
it’s knowing I must climb
through this ring of clouds
to discover the new parts of me
and the new parts of you

/ / /

Gina Thompson
25 April 2017
State College

Freewrite based on the WordPress Daily Prompt: Gray

About Gina Marie Thompson

writer • mom • trail runner • cheese slinger • educator • social justice crusader • seeker of love & beauty• living locally • I CHOOSE LOVE ❤️
This entry was posted in my poems. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your beautiful soul with me.

