[POEM] among the saplings 


among the saplings

who knows how far I’ll get today
I have a morning coffee date with a beautiful woman
but I just want to explore this area of the forest I’ve never been
except once, a long time ago
I walked through the old growth with a friend
falling in love with each step of our hiking shoes.

now I’m here a decade later
uncertain of most things
but hopeful about it all
the joy I have is relentless
it keeps me going
allows me to stop at the spring
to listen to the water roar under rocks
like a distant highway or plane flying far above the clouds
and the rush of the water emerging from underground
carving its own path down the mountain
a path of least resistance

because the water is wiser than any of us
we hack away at boulders with kitchen knives
dig at the earth with spoons
expecting miraculous discoveries or untold stories
sometimes it’s worth stopping
your forward momentum
to listen to the mountain springs
even if it means less miles
and a slower pace

I love to run in the woods
feet pounding quickly over rocks and tree roots
but I need this too
to sit among the maple sapling and budding ferns
tucked in the side of a mountain

/ / /

Gina Thompson
26 April 2017
Greenwood Spur, SST
Alan Seeger, Rothrock State Forest

About Gina Marie Thompson

writer • mom • trail runner • cheese slinger • educator • social justice crusader • seeker of love & beauty• living locally • I CHOOSE LOVE ❤️
This entry was posted in my poems. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your beautiful soul with me.

