[POEM] the watch maker slows time then speeds it up all while laughing maniacally

 



the watch maker slows time then speeds it up all while laughing maniacally

mashed avocado vibrant green
coffee whipped milk
that moment
stolen
a thief of time
fifteen minutes, thirty
sipping hot coffee
soft melodies filling space
silence filling space
birds, wind, highway noise filling space
dogs sigh, bark, snore, jingle collars
they want to run far and long
but they sleep because it’s hot

this moment
was stolen
like the others
I am a thief

avocado browns on the toast
coffee cools in the mug
while I type type type
try to articulate my passions
in a letter
trying to sound professional
but sincere

I’m not saying what they want to hear
(that was never my problem… or
maybe “problem” is exactly what it is)
I don’t lack for honesty
about my passions
I don’t compromise myself for others

a stolen moment
a thief wrapping time around time around time
try to stop it, will it to slow
s l o w     d o w n
but it doesn’t
instead, speeds along and laughs
you can’t steal moments
only borrow them apologetically
with gratefulness
from the time keeper, watch maker
but I will continue to try
to thieve when I can, where I can
smell summer flowers and fresh air
sit in silence and then not silence and then silence

/ / /

Gina Thompson
24 July 2017
Plesant Gap, PA

About Gina Marie Thompson

writer • mom • trail runner • cheese slinger • educator • social justice crusader • seeker of love & beauty• living locally • I CHOOSE LOVE ❤️
This entry was posted in my poems. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your beautiful soul with me.

