[POEM] among the forests

among the forests

It’s as close to an ocean as we get these days
A small state park lake 
Man made by damming the water
Sand trucked in, dumped over dirt
30 yards from water’s edge to grass

I prefer my beaches with trees
Maples thick with leaves
Creating shade and shadows against a tan ground
As long as I can still dig my feet in
Feel the grains of sand between my toes

Instead of seashells I collect rocks
Instead of surfing waves I jump over wakes from passing motor boats and jet skis
In this landlocked state we make do
Climb mountains before breakfast
And make beaches inside the forests

/ / /

Gina Thompson
4 September 2017
Bald Eagle State Park, PA

About Gina Marie Thompson

writer • mom • trail runner • cheese slinger • educator • social justice crusader • seeker of love & beauty• living locally • I CHOOSE LOVE ❤️
This entry was posted in my poems. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your beautiful soul with me.

